Statutes of Limitations for the 50 States and the District of Columbia. Important:

1. Not necessarily applicable to suits against government entities and some humane societies / SPCAs!

2. Minors usually get some extra time against non-governmental dog owners and handlers!

3. If the table says your statute expired, talk to a lawyer anyway because of exceptions!

STATE STATUTE CITATIONS YEARS
ALABAMA Ala. Code § 6-2-2 et. seq. * 2
ALASKA Alaska Stat. § 09.10.010 et. seq. 2
ARIZONA Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-541 et. seq. 1 or 2**
ARKANSAS Ark. Code Ann. § 16-56-101 et. seq. 3
CALIFORNIA Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 335.1 2
COLORADO Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-80-102 et. seq.  2***
CONNECTICUT Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 52-577 or 52-584 2 or 3 ****
DELAWARE Del. Code Ann. tit. 10, § 8101 et. seq. 2
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA D.C. Code § 12-301 et. seq. 3
FLORIDA Fla. Stat. Ann. § 95.011 et. seq. (95.011(3)(a) for bodily injuries; see Title VII) 4
GEORGIA Ga. Code Ann. § 9-3-20 et. seq. 2
HAWAII Haw. Rev. Stat. § 657-1 et. seq. 2
IDAHO Idaho Code § 5-201 et. seq. 2
ILLINOIS 735 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/13-201 et. seq. 2
INDIANA Ind. Code Ann. § 34-11-2-1 et. seq. 2
IOWA Iowa Code Ann. § 614.1 et. seq. 2
KANSAS Kan. Stat. Ann. § 60-501 et. seq. 2
KENTUCKY Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 413.080 et. seq. 1
LOUISIANA La. Civil Code § 3492 et. seq. 1
MAINE Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14, § 751 et. seq. 6
MARYLAND Md. Courts & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 5-101 et. seq. 3
MASSACHUSETTS Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 260, § 1 et. seq. 3
MICHIGAN Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5801 et. seq. 3
MINNESOTA Minn. Stat. Ann. § 541.01 et. seq. 6
MISSISSIPPI Miss. Code. Ann. § 15-1-1 et. seq. 3
MISSOURI Mo. Rev. Stat. § 516.097 et. seq. 5
MONTANA Mont. Code Ann. § 27-2-2021 et. seq. 3
NEBRASKA Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-201 et. seq.  4
NEVADA Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 11.010 et. seq. 2
NEW HAMPSHIRE N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 508:1 et. seq. 3
NEW JERSEY N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2a:14-2 et. seq. 2
NEW MEXICO N.M. Stat. Ann. § 37-1-1 et. seq. 3
NEW YORK N.Y. Civ. Prac. Laws & Rules § 201 et. seq. 3
NORTH CAROLINA N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-46 et. seq.  3
NORTH DAKOTA N.D. Cent. Code § 28-01-01 et. seq. 6
OHIO Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2305.07  2 or 6*****
OKLAHOMA Okla. Stat. Ann. 12-95(A)(3) 2
OREGON Or. Rev. Stat. § 12.010 et. seq. 2
PENNSYLVANIA 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5501 et. seq. 2
RHODE ISLAND R. I. Gen. Laws § 9-1-12 et. seq. 3
SOUTH CAROLINA S.C. Code Ann. § 15-3-510 et. seq. 3
SOUTH DAKOTA S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 15-2-1 et. seq.  3
TENNESSEE Tenn. Code Ann. § 28-1-101 et. seq., 28-3-101 et. seq. 1
TEXAS Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 16.001 et. seq. 2
UTAH Utah Code Ann. § 78-12-22 et. seq. 4
VERMONT Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 506 et. seq. 3
VIRGINIA Va. Code Ann. § 8.01-228 et. seq. 2
WASHINGTON Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 4.16.005 et. seq. 3
WEST VIRGINIA W. Va. Code § 55-2-6 et. seq. 2
WISCONSIN Wis. Stat. Ann. § 893.01 et. seq. 3
WYOMING Wyo. Stat. § 1-3-102 et. seq.  4

* et. seq. means "and the next sections following in sequence".

** Arizona: 1 year if based on dog bite statute; otherwise 2.

*** Colorado: 3 years if motor vehicle injury.

**** Connecticut: 2 years if based on dog bite statute; otherwise 3.

***** Ohio: 6 years if based on dog bite statute; otherwise 2.